PITTSBURG -- The Los Medanos College national debate team scored another honor this year when it placed third in the community college division of the National Parliamentary Debate Association Championship Tournament.

The competition took place March 20-24 at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, Az.

Winning team members included Miguel Mauricio and Kevin Orozco of Pittsburg; Jose Alvarez, Brianna Klipp, Kathryn Lucido and Collin Brown of Antioch; Evan Mullicane of Oakley; and Dennis Tekell of San Ramon.

The team competed against several four-year universities which included University of the Pacific, University of Nevada-Reno, and San Diego State University, among others.

The team's third-place honors followed a regional competition held in February that saw Tekell and Dylan Melowitz win in the novice division after joining the team just three weeks earlier.

The debate team has had a stellar year, ranking 12th nationwide among community colleges and 52nd nationwide among community colleges and four-year colleges and universities.

Contact Eve Mitchell at 925-779-7189. Follow her on Twitter.com/EastCounty_Girl.