PLEASANT HILL -- Massage therapists who have practiced continuously in Pleasant Hill for at least 10 years won't need state certification.
The City Council earlier this week granted an exemption from the new rules the council adopted in May. Police Chief Peter Dunbar said about eight massage therapists qualify for the exemption. They must apply by Dec. 31.
Beginning Jan. 1, only massage therapists and practitioners certified by the California Massage Therapy Council can work in Pleasant Hill. Currently, massage therapists and practitioners who have a city-issued permit or state certification can work in Pleasant Hill.
The Legislature created the California Massage Therapy Council, a private nonprofit organization, in 2008 as part of a law that established statewide standards for massage professionals. To earn state certification, applicants must provide proof of training -- 500 hours for massage therapists and 250 hours for practitioners -- and pass a rigorous criminal background check through the FBI and the U.S. Department of Justice. The fee is $150 and the certification is valid for two years.
Under the new rules, owners must register their massage business annually with the police department and keep a list of the certified therapists and practitioners who work there. Owners also would have to keep a daily log of each client, the therapist who treated them and the services performed.
Lisa P. White covers