WATCH THIS:

  • "Sherlock" (10 p.m., PBS): OK, it's not so "Elementary," but fans of the popular drama have waited almost two years to find out how their favorite brainy sleuth (Benedict Cumberbatch) survived in the closing moments of Season 2's finale after it appeared that he fell to his death. In the first of three 90-minute episodes, the saga picks up two years after Sherlock's leap off the roof of St. Bart's Hospital, and nothing seems to be the same, especially his relationship with Watson (Martin Freeman).

  • "The Following" (7:30 p.m. PST/10:30 p.m. EST -- approximate, follows NFC Championship game, Fox): Season 2 begins with -- what else? -- another bloody killing spree. Will Ryan Hardy (Kevin Bacon) ever be able to find a sense of peace?

  • "The Bachelor: Bachelor Love Stories" (8 p.m., ABC): And you thought all reality TV dating shows ended in tears and tabloid-fueled acrimony. Nope. This where-are-they-now special catches up with some of the successful relationships the franchise has spawned.

    Also on Sunday:

  • NFC Championship game, 49ers vs. Seahawks (3:30 p.m. PST/6:30 p.m. EST)

  • "Bridesmaids," 2011 movie (8 p.m., NBC)

  • "The Real Housewives of Atlanta" (8 p.m., Bravo)

  • "Revenge," (8 p.m., ABC)

  • "Finding Bigfoot" (10 p.m., Animal Panet)

  • "Betrayal" (10 p.m., ABC)


    Advertisement

    Contact Chuck Barney at Facebook.com/BayAreaNewsGroup.ChuckBarney, or Twitter.com/chuckbarney