WATCH THIS:

  • "Super Bowl XLVIII" (3:25 p.m. Pacific; 6:25 p.m. Eastern, Fox): Break out the hot wings and liquid refreshments: America's day of football-related gluttony is upon us. The big game pits the NFL's No. 1 offense (Denver Broncos) against the No. 1 defense (Seattle Seahawks) in frigid New Jersey. But if the sight of beefy men pummeling one another on fake grass doesn't do it for you, there are always the silly commercials and the rousing halftime show starring Bruno Mars. No matter what your game plan is, it's time to huddle up on the couch.

  • "Brooklyn Nine-Nine" (8 p.m. Pacific; 11 p.m. Eastern, Fox): Forget the gridiron combatants. Tonight's big winner could be this Golden Globe-winning freshman sitcom, which gets some much-needed exposure when it airs after the Super Bowl and "New Girl." The guest list for the special episode includes Adam Sandler and NFL legend Joe Theismann.

  • "Sherlock, Series III" (9:58 p.m., PBS): The game is still on but sadly not for long. Tonight's installment, "His Last Vow," is the season finale, so fans of Benedict Cumberbatch's quick-thinking sleuth had better savor it.

    Also on Sunday:

  • "Kitten Bowl" (6 p.m., Hallmark)

  • "60 Minutes" (7 p.m., CBS)

  • "Puppy Bowl X: Third and Long" (7 p.m., Animal Planet)

  • "New Girl" (7:30 p.m. Pacific; 10:30 p.m. Eastern, Fox)

  • "Downton Abbey" (8 p.m., PBS)

  • "Chopped" (9 p.m., Food Network)

    Contact Chuck Barney at Facebook.com/BayAreaNewsGroup.ChuckBarney, or Twitter.com/chuckbarney